Welcome to the Canada-ASEAN Initiatives
at the York Centre for Asian Research, York University

The Canada-ASEAN Initiatives promotes collaboration between scholars, diplomats, business people, and the ASEAN community in Canada to increase public awareness about ASEAN and Canada-ASEAN relations.

Photo above: Global Affairs Canada

What is ASEAN?

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) currently has 10 member states: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam. Read more from World Economic Forum.

The three areas of collaboration at the Canada-ASEAN Initiatives at YCAR include:

Business and Education


Regional Issues

Photos: Shutterstock, ASEAN Learning Centre, Vietnambiz

The York Centre for Asian Research (YCAR)

The York Centre for Asian Research (YCAR) is a community of York University researchers who are committed to analyzing the changing historical and contemporary dynamics of societies in Asia, understanding Asia’s place in the world, and studying the experiences of Asian communities in Canada and around the globe.  Read more.

The Canadian Council for Southeast Asian Studies (CCSEAS)

The Canadian Council for Southeast Asian Studies (CCSEAS) brings together scholars, students, policy makers and activists with an interest in Southeast Asia and its connections to the rest of the world, and organizes a biennial conference and publishes a student-run newsletter once a year. Read more.

Information on 2023 CCSEAS biennial conference, October 12-14, 2023: https://www.ccseas.ca/index.php/2023-conference/

The Asian Business Management Program at York University

The  Asian Business and Management Program (ABMP) is one of the first institutions in Canada to provide professional development and management training to senior executives in Education, Government, and Corporate public and private sectors from Asian countries. ABMP’s customized training itineraries are designed and offered in close collaboration with and for our participants. The academic curriculum is supplemented with visits to public and private-sector organizations intended to give trainees first-hand experiences with practitioners and allow for the transference of learning from classroom to real-world situations. Read more.

The ASEAN Committee in Ottawa
The current Chair is Malaysia, July-December 2023. Chairpersonship rotates semi-annually based on the alphabetical order of the English names of Member States.

The Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada

The Canada-ASEAN Business Council (based in Singapore)

The Centre for Southeast Asia Research, Institute of Asian Research, University of British Columbia

The Centre for Southeast Asian Studies, Asian Institute, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy, University of Toronto

The Centre for Asia-Pacific Initiatives, University of Victoria

Recent Posts